[Phono-L] Hijacked eBay Account!

Robert Wright esroberto at hotmail.com
Mon Mar 12 21:14:08 PDT 2007


Stealing the pics from other auctions is exactly what these guys do.  They 
hijack someone with decent feedback rather than create their own.  I always, 
always, always look at all a seller's other auctions to see what I can find 
out.  If there are 20 high dollar listings in a row with the same layout, 
their account has been hijacked and they're all scams.  Consistency is the 
thing to look for.

Robert



----- Original Message ----- 
From: "john robles" <john9ten at pacbell.net>
To: "Antique Phonograph List" <phono-l at oldcrank.org>
Sent: Monday, March 12, 2007 9:48 PM
Subject: RE: [Phono-L] Hijacked eBay Account!


> That is a classic scam...I have seen that on ebay before where they can't 
> send more pics. It's probably because they stole the pics from a former 
> auction or even off the net. THe item is almost never in the same 
> geographical location as well. This is setting off big alarm bells!!!
>  John Robles
>
> Ken and Brenda Brekke <kbab1 at charter.net> wrote:
>  Something might be goofy with the Johnson A that is on right now. The
> listing is the same as one listed about a year ago, pictures and all. I
> have emailed the seller for more information and pictures and I received 
> an
> email back saying he can't email more pictures. The Ebay ID is from 
> Alabama
> I believe, the seller emailed me that the phonograph is in Miami. When
> asked if it could be picked up and paid for in cash if I was that highest
> bidder there was no reply. Sounds fishy to me. Also, I was informed from
> another person familiar when it was listed before that it had a pretty 
> high
> reserve on it. There is no reserve now.
>
> Ken
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: phono-l-bounces at oldcrank.org [mailto:phono-l-bounces at oldcrank.org] 
> On
> Behalf Of C5fan at aol.com
> Sent: Monday, March 12, 2007 9:33 PM
> To: phono-l at oldcrank.org
> Subject: [Phono-L] Hijacked eBay Account!
>
> I may be mistaking, but I think the eBay account for staged69 has be
> hijacked
> and the old buy it now part has been added to the auction. This address 
> will
>
> not lead you to the real owner, but a different person who will make you a
> deal with a quick Paypal account. One of his auctions is 110101283103. I
> know he
> has sold quality items in the past. I have been watching his auctions and
> just
> noticed today about the buy it now addition. Let me know if I am 
> incorrect.
>
>
>
> **************************************
> AOL now offers free
> email to everyone. Find out more about what's free from AOL at
> http://www.aol.com.
> _______________________________________________
> Phono-L mailing list
> http://phono-l.oldcrank.org
>
> _______________________________________________
> Phono-L mailing list
> http://phono-l.oldcrank.org
>
> _______________________________________________
> Phono-L mailing list
> http://phono-l.oldcrank.org
> 



More information about the Phono-L mailing list